How to Make Skinny Coffee Drinks

If you know me, you know I am frugal (which means using coupons at Whole Foods, so it’s all relative) and I hate spending money on things I could easily make myself, such as protein bars. As such, I almost never buy coffee drinks, but I am, unashamedly, a coffee addict. I got into drinking iced coffee last summer, when I got my teeth whitened (coffee, black tea and other acidic drinks can weaken and stain enamel, so my hygienist advised sipping coffee through a straw), and now I prefer it to hot coffee, even as temperatures plummet. Though coffee has bonafide health benefits (studies show caffeine may protect against stroke, some cancers and Alzheimer’s disease), to sleep easy, I drink one (huge) glass in the morning, then switch to decaf green and herbal teas.

Making your own coffee drinks is super easy and will save you buckets of cash and calories. Exhibit A: A 16 oz. Starbucks frappuccino (no whipped cream) can pack 300 calories and 60 grams of sugar—14 teaspoons worth!

Meg’s Skinny Iced Vanilla Almond Coffee

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups cold brewed coffee*
  • ½ cup unsweetened almond milk (or other milk) (I prefer Almond Fresh; the Almond Breeze brand tends to curdle in drinks.)
  • ¼ tsp vanilla or other extract (try peppermint or almond)
  • 1 packet stevia, or to taste (I like Sugaresque—it tastes and mixes like sugar and has no aftertaste)
  • few shakes cinnamon, optional
  • coffee ice cubes*

Directions:

In a shaker bottle or jar, add coffee, milk, vanilla, stevia and cinnamon. Shake! Pour into a tall glass over ice.  Enjoy with my 2-Minute Banana Bread or Pumpkin Spice Pancakes for a better-than-Starbucks breakfast! Serves 1.

Per serving: 25 calories, 2 g fat (0 g sat, 0 g trans), 97 mg sodium, 1 g fibre, 0 g sugar, 1 g protein

Tips & Variations:

  • Keep a pitcher of brewed coffee in the fridge. I use 1 heaping tablespoon dark roast ground coffee to 1 cup water.
  • Fill ice cube trays with cold coffee and freeze. This way you won’t dilute the coffee.
  • Mocha version: Use chocolate almond milk or add 1-2 teaspoons cocoa powder before blending; sweeten to taste.
  • For a pumped-up shake, add ½ scoop vanilla or chocolate protein powder before blending.
  • Like it hot? Whisk hot coffee, steamed almond milk (heat in microwave) and desired extras.

Meg's Skinny Iced Vanilla Almond Coffee

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Breakfast, How-to ... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

